Monday, 29 June 2015

Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas **Blog Tour & Giveaway**


Click to enlarge

I have something really special to share with you guys today, and I'm so so excited about it! To celebrate the release of Because You'll Never Meet Me in the UK on July 2nd, I have a very exciting letter from main character and hermit Oliver, which makes up the first chapter of what is proving to be a very special book (and I'm only a few chapters in!). I also have a giveaway where you can win one of three copies of the book to read for yourself! Today is a good day, indeed. But before we start, here is a little info about the book.



Because You'll Never Meet Me
Series: None
Pages: 344
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Release date: 2nd July 2015
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon UK | Amazon US | Waterstones

Add to Goodreads

Goodreads synopsis:
In a stunning literary debut, two boys on opposite ends of the world begin an unlikely friendship that will change their lives forever.

Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

A story of impossible friendship and hope under strange circumstances, this debut is powerful, dark and humorous in equal measure. These extraordinary voices bring readers into the hearts and minds of two special boys who, like many teens, are just waiting for their moment to shine.


Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Wishlist Wednesday #185

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?
  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it's on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!


All of the Above
by James Dawson

Synopsis:
This is a funny and moving love story about friends, first loves and self-discovery by Queen of Teen 2014. When sixteen-year-old Toria Bland arrives at her new school she needs to work out who her friends are in a crazy whirl of worry, exam pressure and anxiety over fitting in. Things start looking up when Toria meets the funny and foul-mouthed Polly, who's the coolest girl that Toria has ever seen. Polly and the rest of the 'alternative' kids take Toria under their wing. And that's when she meets the irresistible Nico Mancini, lead singer of a local band - and it's instalove at first sight! Toria likes Nico, Nico likes Toria, but then there's Polly...love and friendship have a funny way of going round in circles.
I adore James Dawson. So, of course, when I saw this was being released by Hot Key Books in September, I had to get it on the Wishlist straight away!
This has the potential to be so wonderful ... I'm expecting fun, laughs, a whole tonne of emotion and some serious pulling on the heartstrings. I have a feeling that it will deliver all of these and more! Roll on September!


What's on your wishlist this week? Let us know in the comments below, or link to your own Wishlist Wednesday post in the Linky :) 








Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Wishlist Wednesday #184

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?
  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it's on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!


P.S. I Still Love You (TATBILB #2)
by Jenny Han

Synopsis:
This is the second book to To All the Boys I've Loved Before. If you haven't read that book, this synopsis will contain spoilers.

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I've Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

I read the first book to this, To All the Boys I've Loved Before, on Sunday and I absolutely fell in love with it (which is how I managed to read it pretty much in one afternoon). It's only been a couple of days, but already I'm pining after the characters and I know it won't be long before I end up getting the sequel! I love a book that has characters that feel this real to me, and all of the characters in the first book felt real. I can't wait to see them again and see what happens next.


What's on your wishlist this week? Let us know in the comments below, or link to your own Wishlist Wednesday post in the Linky :) 








Saturday, 13 June 2015

Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews **Review**


Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews
Series: Timebomb #1
Pages: 340
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Release date: 18/06/2015
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon UK | Amazon US | Waterstones

Add to Goodreads
Thanks to the publisher for my review copy of this book

Goodreads synopsis:
Perfect for fans of Alex Scarrow and Michael Grant, this is the first in an incredible new time travel trilogy by the author of The Afterblight Chronicles.

New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground.

Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she's flung through time.

On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall: seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, in search of a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future.

Thrust into the centre of a war that spans millennia, Dora, Kaz and Jana must learn to harness powers they barely understand to escape not only villainous Lord Sweetclover but the forces of a fanatical army . . . all the while staying one step ahead of a mysterious woman known only as Quil.

I was sent a copy of this book by the publisher, but before it tumbled through my front door, I hadn't heard of it. As soon as I read the synopsis, however, I knew I had to read it, and soon. So I picked it up and started to read nearly as soon as I had it in my hands. And wow ... I'm so glad I did.

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Wishlist Wednesday #183

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?
  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it's on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!


Frostfire
by Amanda Hocking

Synopsis:
Will she give up her dream to follow her heart?

Bryn Aven is determined to gain status amongst the Kanin, the most powerful of the hidden tribes. But as a half-blood, winning respect is a huge challenge. Bryn's almost-human community distrusts people, and those from other tribes are almost as suspect. She has just one goal to get ahead: to join the elite guard protecting the Kanin royal family. And Bryn's vowed that nothing will stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss, Ridley Dresden. But her plans are put on hold when fallen hero Konstantin starts acting dangerously. Bryn loved him once, but now he's kidnapping Kanin children - stealing them from hidden placements within human families. She's sent to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?
I have to put my hands up here and say that I have never actually read any of Amanda Hocking's books ... I know, I know ... terrible! But I really do want to read so many of them, and this is the latest addition to the Wishlist! The main character sounds really strong and frankly, badass, which I love, and the world sounds like one I definitely want to get to know.
I think this book has the potential to be really addictive, so I doubt it'll be long before it pulls me in and I can no longer resist getting myself a copy!


What's on your wishlist this week? Let us know in the comments below, or link to your own Wishlist Wednesday post in the Linky :) 








Thursday, 4 June 2015

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson **Review**


The Sky is Everywhere
Series: None
Pages: 320
Publisher: Walker Books
Release date: 5th February 2015 (this ed)
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon UK | Amazon US | Waterstones

Add to Goodreads

Goodreads synopsis:
For fans of John Green, David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell: a beautiful, funny and heartfelt novel about love and forgiveness. Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life - and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can't collide without Lennie's world exploding...

This is another example of when not reading the synopsis of a book before I picked it up to read has really worked in my favour. Every moment of this book was a discovery, I didn't know what would be around the next bend at any moment, and because of that I became so absorbed in its pages that I never wanted to leave. Even if some many of those pages totally broke my heart. Be warned: this is a book that is exceptionally good at tugging on heartstrings!
 
Blog design installed by Sweet Dreams Design